Feminism & Technology: Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam Trilogy

Instructor: Lisa Brundage
Offered by Macaulay Honors College
Thursdays 6:00-7:30pm (hybrid)
Macaulay Honors College, Classroom TBA

Margaret Atwood’s post-apocalyptic Maddaddam Trilogy (comprised of Oryx and Crake, Year of the Flood, and Maddaddam) examines a near-future in which the impact of corporate profiteering, climate change, continual surveillance, and genetic manipulation result in a hostile environment for humans. Atwood shows that technological advancement can create positive and negative opportunities. The class will explore different lenses of feminist theory, including domesticity, the workplace, technology, and ecofeminism, and learn how to apply these to works of literature. This hybrid class will meet face-to-face and online, and use multimedia/digital humanities techniques for class projects.

Course Codes:

MHC 337 | CRN: TBA


Interested in this course? Please contact your advisor.